About NUPP 2017

Many countries are currently constructing or are in the planning/designing stage of building nuclear power plants. This is primarily to move away from the depleting fossil fuel and in an attempt tocombat climate change. However, design construction and operation of these structures poses particularchallenge with respect to handling radioactive material. The conference aims to bring together researchers, practitioners to address the structural analysis design, risk analysis and decommissioning technologies employed in the nuclear power plant. This will involve advanced analysis both for strength and load model in order to establish safety level. Probabilities and risk analysis form the basis for the safety of Nuclear Power Plant, the analysis dictate the chances for the reactor in failing in incidents of natural or external incidents. Removal and closure of a plant is also pivotal to the face of Nuclear Energy, in giving confidence to the public. This conference presents the perfect opportunity for you, as it aims to provide an ideal platform for industry leading researchers, technology developers, industrial players and supply chain partners to converge.

Keynote Speakers

Professor Damien Feron
French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)
Professor Nawal Prinja
AMEC Foster Wheeler
Professor Chris Pearce
University of Glasgow

Conference Themes

Advanced Structural Analysis
Containment Design
Non - Containment Design
Thermal Effects
Non - Linear Analysis
Structural Integrity
Lifetime Behaviour
Risk Analysis and Reliability
Probabilistic Seismic Hazard
Risk Management
Decommissioning Technology
Characterisation techniques in nuclear decommissioning
Remote handling and radioactive waste management
Radiation detection instrumentation and imaging
Robotics and autonomous systems in decommissioning
Regulations and Licensing

Organising Committee

Professor Purnendu K Das


International Advisory Committee

Prof A Ayoub City University London
Prof P Baraldi Politecnico di Milano
Mr A Brown Nuclear Innovation and Research Office
Prof Y Bulut Turgut Özal University
Dr A Camara City University London
Prof F D’Auria University of Pisa
Dr B Dutta Bhabha Atomic Research Centre
Dr Ö Erbay MATRISeb
Dr B Erkus Istanbul Technical University
Prof Y Fahjan Gebze Technical University
Prof D Feron CEA
Dr N Fernando RMIT University
Dr W Fuchs University of Stuttgart
Dr S Gallocher AMEC Foster Wheeler
Dr K Gamage Lancaster University
Dr L Ibarra University of Utah
Prof N Kamran Imperial College London
Dr G Locatelli University of Leeds
Prof B Merk University of Liverpool
Prof G C Park Seoul National University
Dr E Patelli University of Liverpool
Prof C Pearce University of Glasgow UK
Prof N Prinja AMEC Foster Wheeler
Mr K Schramm Areva GmbH
Dr R M Singh University of Surrey
Prof C H Song Korea Atomic Research Institute
Dr K D Tsavdaridis University of Leeds
Prof A Varma Purdue University
Dr M Wenman Imperial College London
Prof X Cheng Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Key Deadlines

Deadline for abstracts Oct. 31, 2016
Notification of Acceptance Nov. 7, 2016
Submission of full papers Jan. 4, 2017
Registration Closes Jan. 22, 2017

Back to top